I truly believe the foundation are good eating habits. So that's why I've decided to start here. No matter how high-end the products you use are or how much you exercise, if the things you're ingesting have negative effects on your health, you won't reap the maximum benefits from your other routines.
So I want to start off by reviewing some of my eating habits, which I think have helped me improve the condition of my skin and generally give me more energy
I'm always interested in any tips or secrets other people have, so please comment and let me know! Also if any of my beliefs are wrong, please let me know...I don't get offended very easily :D
Here are some of the healthy foods I eat...
Breakfast:
The most important rule: NEVER miss breakfast. Even if you feel slightly queasy in the mornings, anything is better than nothing.
Here are some things I like to eat
- Yoghurt - the live cultures help boost your metabolism, low GI, plus it's a great source of calcium and protein (+ it's yumm!)
- Wholegrain oat - high in fibre, low GI, and negative calorie
- Bananas - gives you a good energy boost and good source of Vitamin B and potassium (apparently if also helps if you feel nauseas)
- Apples - good source of vitamins and antioxidants, plus it's been claimed to be better than coffee for making you alert (hmm...)
- All other fruit - but if you're having berries that are very high in antioxidants, it's best not to eat it with lots of protein if you're mainly after the antioxidation effects (some researches have shown that protein counteracts the antioxidation effects of berries)
- Matcha (powdered green tea) - detoxifying, caffeine, + many other skin/health benefits
Snack:
I usually get a tad hungry after 2 hours or so. I know some research have shown that eating 5+ meals a day does not boost your metabolism any more than if you eat less meals. But my general rule is to eat when I'm hungry. Imho this prevents over-eating later and bingeing (I don't have the strongest stomach so over-eating triggers some pretty nasty aches)
- Fruit - high in fibre, usually low GI, vitamins, antioxidants (you get the drill)
- Yoghurt
- Whole grain/ wholemeal/ wheat carbs (whole grain is the best)
- Anything really since this is only making up a small portion of what I'm eating for the day
Lunch:
Another important meal that's not to be missed. I like to make sure I get a bit of everything in this meal: essential fats, protein, carbohydrates, fibre
I usually have a sandwich since it's the easiest way to make sure I have a well-rounded meal
- Whole grain/ wholemeal bread (my favourite is soy and linseed)
- Avocado - essential fats and tasty XD
- Chicken/tuna/beef
- Any veges - I usually like salad greens since its high in fibre and alkaline (detoxifying)
- Pepper - good for the metabolism
Snack:
Anything I can get my hands on - usually fruit and yoghurt
Dinner:
Although I'm not saying missing any meals (brekkie/lunch/dinner) is good, but if you absolutely, gun at your head, had to miss one meal, dinner would be the one I'd choose. Just because your body is winding down at night and it's not absolutely necessary to give it lots of high energy foods.
I try to eat more protein and veges rather than simple carbohydrates (white flour/sugar)
Eating a heavy dinner can also give me indigestion/stomach aches, so this is why I try to keep dinner light (at least not heavier than lunch)
- Fish (white fleshed, tuna, or salmon)
- Chicken
- Lean beef
- Lean lamb
- Cheese - ♥ camembert, brie, ricotta, fetta
- Veges of any kind - ♥ broccoli
Now I'm not a complete food nazi XD...what I've listed above are just the healthy things I eat...here goes the rest...
- ♥ chocolate (30%+ cocoa) - eat it every single day without fail XD
- ♥ biscuits
- ♥ cake - banana, chocolate... I don't really discriminate
...Plus chocolate doesn't technically fall under unhealthy, especially if you have 70%+ cocoa content

No comments:
Post a Comment